My Thoughts on Lovelyz’s “Destiny” Music Video

Lovelyz is back with “Destiny.”

With very little intro, the music video jumps right into the song. I feel like there’s usually some kind of intro, and sometimes those can be very long, so I was caught a bit off guard when the song began so quickly. The song is about how this person is their “destiny” and they continually “revolve” around him like the moon, but he’s constantly “revolving” around someone else.

The song is chock-full of planet metaphors and likewise, I like how the camera is constantly revolving around the girls just like an orbiting planet. I thought that was really clever, but there is one part (probably in the bridge and following chorus, I can’t remember) where the revolving scenes quicken and there are many more cuts, which kind of was dizzying; they could have toned down on that. I get that they’re trying to go for that build up but whenever something is revolving, your eye is trying to catch focus on something and when it quickly cuts to another shot, your eye has to readjust, so lots of moving objects and fast cuts isn’t exactly those most visual-friendly thing.

The video also makes a bunch of other planetary/circular references like drawing circles with a compass and moon eclipse body art is. Of course, my favorite has to be the marbles with swirls of color in them spinning around other marbles: the perfect representation of the song.

In Lovelyz fashion, the song is quite J-pop and it’s a style that works really well for them. I know I’m not the first to say this, but in agreement with everyone else, it totally sounds like an opening/ending song for a shoujo anime. I’d say it’s their best title track to date.

Check out the music video below!

What do you think of Lovelyz’s “Destiny” music video? Share your thoughts with me!!

Leave a Reply

