My Thoughts on Boys Republic’s “Get Down” Music Video

Boys Republic is back with “Get Down.”

On first listen, the song is really catchy and dynamic. It also sounds very Western and as I suspected it was written overseas, so I’m really interested in hearing the original English demo. Boys Republic isn’t all that well known, but they’ve had a great diversity of title tracks which has kept them on my radar. “Get Down” seems like something that could be trendy, if they were more recognized.

What didn’t quite work for me was the video. I feel like the video was trying a little too hard to be badass, especially with the random throat slitting and decapitation. With a knife like that it would take forever to decapitate somebody, so I don’t know how you’d infiltrate into some organized crime hideout and have time to decapitate somebody without being noticed in like 10 seconds. I know it’s just a music video, but still I can’t suspend my disbelief to that extent. In lieu of the tryhardness, I would prefer that this was just a simple performance that showed off their choreography because from what little I could see, it looked good.

Check out the music video below!

What do you think of Boys Republic’s “Get Down” music video? Share your thoughts with me!!

Leave a Reply

