My Thoughts on Park Yoochun’s “How Much Love Is In Your Wallet?” Music Video

JYJ member Park Yoochun makes his solo debut with “How Much Love is In Your Wallet?”

I have been wondering when he’d make his debut as his fellow members have made their solo debuts long ago. I was a little concerned about how this would go because Yoochun has a very interesting voice, which is both husky and nasally. Don’t get me wrong, I enjoy his vocals in group songs, but I wasn’t sure how I’d feel about an entire solo track. (He has released solo tracks before, but I’m casting those aside for his official Korean solo debut.)

I had no reason to be all that concerned because as it turns out, I really like this song. I enjoy how it’s not the typical love song/party track/sad breakup song and that it’s just about life and hopes for happiness. It’d be nice if there were more introspective songs about life. He delivers the song with a slightly husky and soothing tone and I have to point out that I like that he really controlled his naturally nasal tone and toned it down, smoothening the song’s tone.

The video features a man who is simply struggling to get by in life and to his own shame, he always has to be treated by others. At the end of the video, he sees some dumplings that he wishes to buy, but he’s short on cash. We see in his wallet that there’s a photo of a young girl who appears to be his daughter. The store vendor hands him a bag of dumplings anyway and he tearfully smiles in gratitude. He’s working hard to make ends meet for his daughter and despite life being difficult, he has many little reasons to be happy as he is surrounded by kind people.

For anybody who’s going through some rough patches in life, this is a great soothing and uplifting ballad.

Check out the music video below!

What do you think of Park Yoochun’s “How Much Love is in Your Wallet?” music video? Share your thoughts with me!!

Leave a Reply

