My Thoughts on iKON’s “Anthem” Music Video

iKON releases a few songs from the second half of their debut album & I’ll be writing about “Anthem” for this post.

I find it interesting that the song opens with “iKON is coming to town” and that the song is titled “Anthem” in English, but the song isn’t performed by the entire group. I know that this song is only performed by a 2 member sub-unit, but some things just don’t match up.

To be honest, the song really reminded me of labelmate Mino’s “I’m Him.” Well, both songs are composed and arranged by Teddy and Choice37. But, they literally sound like the same instrumentals with minor adjustments, which makes the song just sound recycled to me. I wonder if I’m the only person who hears this? For the record, I much prefer Mino’s “I’m Him,” which just sounds so much smoother and cleaner.

As for the video, I like how the stylists dressed the boys to really suit the monochromatic video. Plus, the editing made the video look so much more interesting when it really the boys aren’t doing all that much.

Check out the music video below!

What do you think of iKON’s “Anthem” music video? Share your thoughts with me!!

Leave a Reply

