My Thoughts on VIXX’s “Chained Up” Music Video

VIXX returns in chokers for “Chained Up.”

VIXX is pretty well known for always coming back with very distinct and unique concepts, so I was well aware of fans freaking out about them wearing chokers for a song titled “Chained Up.” With chokers being all the rage right now, it seemed like a pretty timely concept.

The song and video didn’t really strike me the way their previous title tracks have, so that was a bit disappointing. I think the biggest deviation from expectation due to the teasers is that I thought this would be a sleek and sexy song and it really isn’t either of those things. With a song title like “Chained Up” and chokers as the concept accessory, how much better and more fitting would this have been if it was a sleek and sexy song? I didn’t fall in love with this song first listen and it isn’t an instant fave, but after a few listens, I do admit it grows on you. I just think with a “chained up” concept, a lot more could have been done.

There are some interesting visuals in the music video, but conceptually there are a bunch of sets that don’t really have any relevance to the song, so that’s kind of out of place. But of the relevant sets, I liked the hanging chains set, as well as the mirror room with the broken mirror floors. Ravi’s tarp maze was slightly unimpressive though… but at least it conceptually made sense as opposed to Hyuk’s platform.

This comeback doesn’t really do it for me, but I do enjoy VIXX’s team for always coming up with interesting concepts, so I’ll be looking out for something a lot more engaging next time.

Check out the music video below!

What do you think of VIXX’s “Chained Up” music video? Share your thoughts with me!!

Leave a Reply

