My Thoughts on Red Velvet’s “Dumb Dumb” Music Video

Red Velvet returns with a doll concept for “Dumb Dumb.”

I heard a bunch of things before I watched the video about how it was strange and there’s no coherency to the song. Maybe it’s because I’ve already heard the song a bunch of times before writing this (I usually listen to the song/watch the video once before I write a post), but it didn’t sound all that strange to me. I found the song to be really catchy and it’s not like a bunch of random sounds thrown together (like Girls’ Generation’s “I Got a Boy” which some people likened “Dumb Dumb” to). The song kind of reminds me of Jessie J’s “Bang Bang,” particularly the chorus but it’s regarding the song vibe more than the melody.

The video isn’t as entirely random as people set me up to believe (but yeah, it still is kind of random). The song is about how the girls get “dumb” when they’re in front of the guy they like, so they act stiff and awkward like dolls/robots, which explains the whole doll concept. Although, the video shows the dolls taking over, creating more clones and wreaking havoc at the factory, which seems like an entirely irrelevant message about fighting against authority (and seems out of place regarding the song lyrics). In any case, I really like the quirky song and it’s a great title track following “Ice Cream Cake.”

Check out the music video below!


What do you think of Red Velvet’s “Dumb Dumb” music video? Share your thoughts with me!!

Leave a Reply

