My Thoughts on DAY6’s “Congratulations” Music Video

New Kpop band DAY6 makes their debut with “Congratulations.”

First off, I have to say I’m super in love with this song and this definitely is one of my favorite debut songs this year. When you hear the word “congratulations,” you usually think of somebody being happy for another person, but in this song, it’s sung in sarcasm. I wasn’t expecting that twist, but I really enjoyed it and the lyrics that convey the feelings of bitterness when a former lover finds a new lover, not long after breaking up with you.

On top of that, I adore the music video too which I think perfectly matches the song. The video features actors Choi Woo Shik and Jang Hee Ryung as former lovers, but the video often flashbacks to their couple days and their chemistry is mad cute. And that makes it all the more sad when Woo Shik runs into with Hee Ryung and her new boyfriend on the subway. My absolute favorite thing is the seemingly endless flow of confetti that rains on the scene which further emphasizes the ironic “congratulations” since she happily found a new boyfriend so quickly and Woo Shik’s dealing with his bitter heartbreak.

For me, this song coupled with the music video is the whole package, making a strong and impressive debut.

Check out the music video below!

What do you think of DAY6’s “Congratulations” music video? Share your thoughts with me!!

Leave a Reply

