My Thoughts on Kondo Yohdi’s “Gurugurun Sekai” Music Video

Harajuku model Kondo Yohdi returns with his latest track “Gugurun Sekai” (which means “Spinning World” in English).

To be honest, I was going to write a review earlier about his debut song… but it was so terrible and I wasn’t in the mood to write a post trashing it so I scrapped that idea. And I decided to give him another chance with this music video, which I feel is heaps better.

What I really like about this video is that they really take the title quite literally and include it in almost every aspect of the video, making everything¬†rotate from the fonts to set pieces and camera shots. You would think with all the spinning it’d make the viewer get a bit dizzy/nauseous, but they edited it in a way that didn’t make me feel that way so props to that. On top of all that, they throw in props with swirls from swirly sunglasses to lollipops and cookies.

And of course the best part is the song sounds so much better than his debut track! I really think this has to do with the fact that he has now been picked up by a huge Japanese record label AVEX, which explains the upgrade in musical quality (but truth to be told, AVEX has tons of artists and releases…. a large range of different quality music… I kind of just disproved myself there, but bigger company = better songs [usually]). He’s off to a better & cuter start with AVEX, so let’s see where his musical career goes from here.

Check out the music video below!

What do you think of Kondo Youdi’s “Gugurun Sekai” music video? Share your thoughts with me!!

Leave a Reply

