My Thoughts on SEKAI NO OWARI’s “Anti-Hero” Music Video

SEKAI NO OWARI releases their first English title track with “Anti-Hero.” Previously, they released an English version to their originally Japanese track “Dragon Night.”

The video features a bunch of masked chefs who prepare sushi for SEKAI NO OWARI to feast on. Not really sure what that has to do with Fukase singing about being an anti-hero who is feared and hated by everybody, but will protect his cherished ones. I was already surprised by the song, so I guess anything goes with them.

I wasn’t expecting a jazz pop track from SEKAI NO OWARI, so this was definitely a surprise for me. I have to say I think the song lyrically is interesting, but I’m not really a fan of the melody. Personally, I just really don’t like songs that have this “Halloween” sound to them. I like dark melodies, but “Halloween” sounding songs have this strange playful sound that I just can’t get into. I don’t think I explained myself very well, but that’s a personal bias I totally acknowledge. I do respect that SEKAI NO OWARI is trying new things and I definitely would want to hear more jazz pop tracks from them.

Check out the music video below!

What do you think of SEKAI NO OWARI’s “Anti-Hero” music video? Share your thoughts with me!!

Leave a Reply

